My Favorite Quotes- TV Shows

        I have been keeping a notebook of quotes that I liked, or related to, since I was about 14. I had a friend that was doing it, and I thought it was a cool idea. Over the years, I’ve added to, and rewritten multiple times, my “Erin’s Quote Notebook”. I’m so OCD and organized that I have them broken down, in the handwritten notebook, by category (and by “TV Show and Episode”, in this case). My goal was to eventually get them all typed. I figured blogging them, by category, would be a good way. Writing by hand, in the age of technology, is extremely overrated! I’ll probably add to this, from time to time…but as of today, here are the TV show quotes that I resonated with (a lot are from the same shows), which, out of context, and if you are not a complete nerd, probably make no sense:

Show: Xena: Warrior Princess; Episode: Prometheus

Gabrielle: “Once, a long, long time ago, all people had four legs and two heads. And then, the Gods threw down thunderbolts, and split everyone into two. Each half then had two legs, and one head. But the separation left both sides with a desperate yearning to be reunited, because they shared the same soul. And ever since then, all people spend their lives searching for the other half of their soul.”

Show: Hercules: The Legendary Journeys; Episode: Stranger and Stranger

Iolas: “You can’t forget the past anymore than you can change it. I guess the trick is to learn from our mistakes, and if we’re lucky, we get our second chances.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: The Prom

Buffy: “I think horrible is still coming. Right now, it’s worse. Right now, I’m just trying to keep from dying.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Lover’s Walk

Spike: “You’re not friends. You’ll never be friends. You’ll be in love till it kills you both. You’ll fight and you’ll shag and you’ll hate each other till it makes you quiver, but you’ll never be friends. Love isn’t brains, children, it’s blood. Blood screaming inside you to work its will. I may be love’s bitch, but at least I’m man enough to admit it.” (*THIS IS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVES)

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Passion

Angel: “Passion, it lies in all of us, sleeping… waiting… and though unwanted… unbidden… it will stir… open its jaws and howl. It speaks to us… guides us… passion rules us all, and we obey. What other choice do we have? Passion is the source of our finest moments. The joy of love… the clarity of hatred… and the ecstasy of grief. It hurts sometimes more than we can bear. If we could live without passion maybe we’d know some kind of peace… but we would be hollow… Empty rooms shuttered and dank. Without passion we’d be truly dead.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Helpless

Angel:  “I watched you, and I saw you called. It was a bright afternoon out in front of your school. You walked down the steps… and… and I loved you.” Buffy:  “Why?” Angel:  ” ‘Cause I could see your heart. You held it before you for everyone to see. And I worried that it would be bruised or torn. And more than anything in my life I wanted to keep it safe… to warm it with my own.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Amends

Buffy: “What about me? I love you so much. And I tried to make you go away. I killed you and it didn’t help. And I hate it. I hate that it’s so hard, and that you can hurt me so much. I know everything that you did because you did it to me. God, I wish that I wished you dead. I don’t. I can’t.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Triangle

Buffy: “It hurts. In all kinds of horrible ways. In the way where I’m furious at him … in the way where I blame myself … and all the little ways I imagine … how I could have fixed things….Yes. It has to. I’ll just keep going like I have been, and every day it’ll get a little bit better…But you never know. Maybe he’ll come back. Maybe he’ll hate the jungle … or maybe he’ll want to give it another try. I could … say all the things I didn’t get to say.”

Show: Buffy: The Vampire Slayer; Episode: Becoming, Part 1

Whistler: “Bottom line is even if you see ’em coming, you’re not ready for the big moments. No one asks for their life to change, not really. But it does. So what, are we helpless? Puppets? No. The big moments are gonna come, can’t help that. It’s what you do afterwards that counts. That’s when you find out who you are.”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One with the Baby on the Bus

Chandler: “We’ll flip for it, call it in the air.”

Joey: “Heads.”

Chandler: “We have to assign heads to something.”

Joey: “Well, uh…ducks is “heads”, because ducks have heads.”

Chandler: “What kind of scary-ass clowns came to your birthday?”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One Where Ross Finds Out

Ross: “You’re OVER me? When were you UNDER me?”

Show: Angel; Episode: Reprise

Darla:  “Don’t play games with me.”
Angel:  “I’m not playing.  I just wanna feel something besides the cold.”
Angel:  “Why’re you laughing?”
Angel:  “Don’t you feel the cold?”
Darla:  “What’re you doing?”
Angel:  “It doesn’t matter. None of it matters.”

Show: Angel; Episode: Epiphany

Angel: “You saved me. I gave you everything I had left… I am – so sorry…I am sorry, Darla. You saved me. Sorry I couldn’t do the same for you…And it was perfect, Darla. – It was perfect despair. And you were the reason. You’ve always been the reason. You were the thing that made me what I am, and – I thought – if I could save you, I’d somehow – save myself, but – but I was wrong. And when I failed… when I failed, you saved me. And I have to thank you for that. There is nothing I can do for you now, Darla. I can’t even hate you.”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One Where Heckles Dies

Chandler: “And now I have to get a snake…If I’m gonna be an old, lonely man, I’m gonna need a thing. Y’know, a hook; like that guy on the subway who eats his own face. So I figure I’ll be  crazy man with a snake! Y’know, Crazy Snake Man! And I’ll get more snakes, call  them my babies, kids won’t walk past my place they will run! “Run away from  Crazy Snake Man!!” they’ll shout!”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One Where Ross Finds Out

Rachel: “Ross, hi, it’s Rachel. I’m just calling to say that um, everything’s fine and
I’m really happy for you and your cat who, by the way, I think you should name
Michael. And, you know, ya see there I’m thinking of names so obviously, I am
over you. I am over you and that, my friend, is what they call closure.”

Show: Angel; Episode: I Will Remember You

Buffy:  “So, then let’s just stick to the plan.  Keep our distance until a lot
of time has passed, and given enough time – we should be able to..”
Angel:  “Forget.”
Buffy:  “Yeah.  –  So – I’m gonna go – start forgetting.”

Show: Veronica Mars; Episode: Meet John Smith

Veronica: “Tragedy blows through your life like a tornado, uprooting everything, creating chaos. You wait for the dust to settle, and then you choose. You can live in the wreckage and pretend it’s still the mansion you remember. Or you can crawl from the rubble and slowly rebuild. Because after disaster strikes, the important thing is that you move on. But if you’re like me, you just keep chasing the storm.”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One With the Ball

Monica (re: Rachel’s cat): “So, why don’t you just take it back to where you got it?”
Rachel: “I tried! They won’t take her back.”

Chandler: “Maybe that’s because she’s a minion of the anti-Christ!”

Show: Veronica Mars; Episode: Look Who’s Stalking

Logan: “You know, I’m surprised, Veronica. As a keen observer of the human condition, I thought you saw through people better than that. Bimbos? That’s not me anymore.”

Veronica: “So, what are you like now?”

Logan: “You know, tortured. Ever since I had my heart broken.”

Veronica: “Hannah really did do a number on you, huh?”

Logan: “Come on, you know I’m not talking about Hannah. I thought our story was epic, you know? You and me.”

Veronica: “Epic how?”

Logan: “Spanning years, and continents. Lives ruined and blood shed. Epic! But summer’s almost here, and we won’t see each other at all. And then you’ll leave town, and then… it’s over.”

Veronica: “Logan…”

Logan: “I’m sorry… about last summer. You know, if I could do it over…”

Veronica: “Come on. Ruined lives? Bloodshed? You really think a relationship should be that hard?”

Logan: “No one writes songs about the ones that come easy.”

Show: Veronica Mars; Episode: Of Vice and Men

Veronica: “I think we all learned a valuable lesson about faith. You give it to the people you love. But the people who really deserve it, are the ones who come through even when you don’t love them enough.”

Show: The Office; Episode: A Benihana Christmas

Jim: “You just had a rebound. Don’t get me wrong rebounds can be fun and a nice
distraction. But when they’re over you’re left thinking about the girl you really
like, the one that broke your heart.”

Show: Friends; Episode: The One With Joey’s New Girlfriend

Chandler: “Okay, what do ya say I, uh, go over there and tell her how much I like her? No,
no, it’d be good. I could tell how much I’ve been thinking about her; that I
haven’t stopped thinking about her since the moment we met; that I’m so
fantastically, over-the-top, wanna-slit-my-own-throat in love with her, that for
every minute of every hour of every day, I can’t believe my own damn bad luck
that you met her first!”

Show: CSI; Episode: Bodies in Motion

Catherine: “The best thing about a fantasy is the possibility it will come true. When that possibility is taken away, it just… kinda… sucks.”

Show: LOST; Episode: Cabin Fever

Ben: “You’ll understand soon enough that there are consequences to being chosen. Because destiny, John, is a fickle bitch.” (*GUESS WHERE I GOT MY BLOG TITLE)

Show: The Tudors; Episode: The Act of Treason

Cromwell: “Sometimes, Your Grace, in order to defeat evil you must learn to consort with the devil.”

Show: The Office; Episode: Grief Counseling

Ryan: “A few years ago my family was on a safari in Africa. And my cousin Mufasa, was
trampled to death by a pack of wildebeests. And we all took it really hard, all of us kind of in the audience of what happened.”

Michael: “Do you want to talk about it anymore?”
Ryan: “Oh, it would probably take me like an hour and a half to tell that whole story.”

Show: The Office; Episode: Money

Jim: “Did I ever tell you why I left Scranton?…Yeah, I didn’t think I had…Well, it was all about Pam…I mean, she was with Roy, and, uh, I just couldn’t take it. I mean, I lost it, Dwight – I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t concentrate on anything…even weird stuff, like, food had no taste. So my solution was to move away. It was awful…and it is something that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy – and that includes you.”

Show: The Office; Episode: Niagara

Jim: “Four years ago, I was just a guy who had a crush on a girl, who had a boyfriend. And I had to do the hardest thing that I’ve ever had to do, which was just to.. wait. Don’t get me wrong, I flirted with her. Pam, I can now admit in front of friends and family, that I do know how to make a photocopy. Didn’t need your help that many times. And, uh, do you remember how long it took you to teach me how to drive stick?”
Pam: “Like a year!”
Jim: “I’ve been driving stick since high school, so… For a really long time that’s all I had. Little moments with a girl who saw me as a friend. And, a lot of people told me I was crazy to wait this long for a date with a girl I work with but I think, even then I knew that… I was waiting for my wife.”

Show: The Office; Episode: Company Picnic

Michael: “I didn’t find a perfect moment, because I think that today was just about just  having today. And I think that we are one of those couples with a long story,  when people ask how they found each other. I will see her every now and then,  and… Maybe one year she’ll be with somebody, and the next year, I’ll be with somebody, and it’s gonna take a long time… And then it’s perfect. I’m in no rush.”

Show: Criminal Minds; Episode: JJ

JJ: “I’m thankful for my years spent with this family, for everything we shared,  every chance we had to grow. I’ll take the best of them with me and lead by  their example wherever I go. A friend told me to be honest with you, so here it  goes. This isn’t what I want, but I’ll take the high road. Maybe it’s because I  look at everything as a lesson, or because I don’t want to walk around angry, or  maybe it’s because I finally understand. There are things we don’t want to  happen, but have to accept. Things we don’t want to know, but have to learn. And  people we can’t live without, but have to let go.”

Show: The Vampire Diaries; Episode: Graduation

Damon: “But you know what I really am? Selfish. Because I make bad choices that hurt you. Yes, I would rather die than be human. I’d rather die right now than spend a handful of years with you only to lose you when I’m too old and sick and miserable and you’re still you. I’d rather die right now than spend my last final years remembering how good I had it and how happy I was. Because that who I am and I’m not going to change. And there’s no apology in the world that encompasses all the reasons that I’m wrong for you.”

Elena: “Fine then I’m not sorry either. I’m not sorry that I met you. I’m not sorry that knowing you has made me question everything, that in death you’re the one that made me feel most alive. You’ve been a terrible person. You made all the wrong choices and of all the choices that I’ve made this will prove to be the worst one but I am not sorry that I’m in love with you. I love you, Damon. I love you.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Philly Tofu Phanatic

Reviews and suggestions for dining out Vegetarian & Vegan in Philadelphia

Veronica Mars

Kickstarter Backer Access!

One Pink Balloon

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

Bluntly Spoken

Calvin 1.0

One year down, Eternity to go...

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

DELIGHTFULLY DYSFUNCTIONAL

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

