My Favorite Quotes- Movies

Just like I posted my favorite TV quotes, these are the movie quotes I had in my notebook. I’ll probably add to this, from time to time…but as of today, here are the movie quotes that I found notebook-worthy:

Movie: Legends of the Fall

Tristan: “I recommend fucking.”

Movie: That Thing You Do

Faye: “Jimmy, from now on, you stay away from me. I’ve wasted thousands and thousands
of kisses on you. Kisses that I thought were special because of your lips and
your smile and all of your color and life. I used to think that was the real you
when you smiled, but now I know that you don’t mean any of it. You just save it
for all of your songs. Shame on me for kissing you with my eyes closed so
tight.”

Movie: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Indy: “I’m like a bad penny, I always turn up.”

Movie: Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

Princess Leia: “I love you.”

Han Solo: “I know.”

Movie: A Few Good Men

Col. Jessep: “You want answers?”
Lt. Kaffee: “I think I’m entitled to them.”
Col. Jessep: “You want answers?”
Lt. Kaffee: “I want the truth!”
Col. Jessep: “You can’t handle the truth! Son, we live in a world
that has walls. And those walls have to be guarded by men with guns. Who’s gonna
do it? You? You, Lt. Weinberg? I have a greater responsibility than you can
possibly fathom. You weep for Santiago and you curse the Marines. You have that
luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know: that Santiago’s death,
while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence, while grotesque and
incomprehensible to you, saves lives…You don’t want the truth. Because deep
down, in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want me on that wall. You
need me on that wall. We use words like honor, code, loyalty…we use these
words as the backbone to a life spent defending something. You use ’em as a
punchline. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a
man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom I provide, then
questions the manner in which I provide it! I’d rather you just said thank you
and went on your way. Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon and stand a
post. Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you’re entitled to!”

Movie: Clerks

Customer: “Cute cat. What’s his name?”

Randal: “Annoying customer.”

Movie: Clerks

Dante: “You hate people!”

Randal: “But I love gatherings. Isn’t it ironic?”

Movie: Clerks

Randal: “There’s nothing more exhilarating than pointing out the shortcomings of others, is there?”

Movie: The Princess Bride

Westley: “As you wish.”

Movie: The Princess Bride

Westley: “There’s a shortage of perfect breasts in this world. It would be a pity to damage yours.”

Movie: Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Frodo: “How do you pick up the threads of an old life? How do you go on, when in your
heart you begin to understand there is no going back? There are some
things time cannot mend. Some hurts that go too deep that have taken hold. ”

Movie: Cruel Intentions

Kathryn: “You were very much in love with her. And you’re still in love with her. But it
amused me to make you ashamed of it. You gave up on the first person you ever
loved because I threatened your reputation. Don’t you get it? You’re just a toy
Sebastian. A little toy I like to play with. And now you’ve completely blown it
with her. I think it’s the saddest thing I’ve ever heard. Cheers. Tastes good. So I assume you’ve come here to make arrangements. But
unfortunately, I don’t fuck losers.”

Movie: The Wizard of Oz

Dorothy: “But it wasn’t a dream. It was  a place. And you and you and you…and you were there. But you couldn’t have  been could you? No, Aunt Em, this was a real truly live place and I remember  some of it wasn’t very nice, but most of it was beautiful–but just the same all  I kept saying to everybody was “I want to go home,” and they sent me home!  Doesn’t anybody believe me? But anyway, Toto, we’re home! Home. And this is my  room, and you’re all here and I’m not going to leave here ever, ever again.  Because I love you all. And… Oh Auntie Em! There’s no place like home!”

Movie: Glengarry Glen Ross

Blake: “Put that coffee down. Coffee’s for closer’s only. You think I’m fuckin’ with you? I am not fuckin’ with you.”

Movie: The Wizard of Oz

Dorothy: “If I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than
my own backyard, because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with.”

Movie: The Wizard of Oz

The Tin Man: “Now I know I’ve got a heart, ’cause it’s breaking…”

Movie: Ten Things I Hate About You

Kat: “I hate the way you talk to me, and the way you cut your hair.
I hate the way you drive my car, I hate it when you stare.
I hate your big, dumb combat boots and the way you read my mind.
I hate you so much it makes me sick — It even makes me rhyme.
I hate the way you’re always right. I hate it when you lie.
I hate it when you make me laugh — Even worse when you make me cry.
I hate it when you’re not around. And the fact that you didn’t call.
But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you — Not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all.”

Movie: Titanic

Rose: “A woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets.”

Movie: Win A Date With Tad Hamilton

Angelica:  “Well is it love, big love, or great love?”

Pete:  “What do you mean?”
Angelica: “Well, love you get over in two months, big love you get over in two years, and great love, well great love… changes your life. So which one is it? ”
Angelica: “Oh my god, its great love.”
Pete: “Yeah, that just great.”

Movie: Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Capt. Jack Sparrow: “The deepest circle of hell is reserved for betrayers and mutineers.”

Movie: Brokeback Mountain

Jack: “Tell you what, we coulda had a good life together! Fuckin’ real good life! Had us a place of our own. But you didn’t want it, Ennis! So what we got now is Brokeback Mountain! Everything’s built on that! That’s all we got, boy, fuckin’ all. So I hope you know that, even if you don’t never know the rest! You count the damn few times we have been together in nearly twenty years and you measure the short fucking leash you keep me on – and then you ask me about Mexico and tell me you’ll kill me for needing somethin’ I don’t hardly never get. You have no idea how bad it gets! I’m not you… I can’t make it on a coupla high-altitude fucks once or twice a year! You are too much for me Ennis, you sonofawhoreson bitch! I wish I knew how to quit you. ”

Movie: Brokeback Mountain

Alma: “Don’t try and fool me no more, Ennis; I know what it means! Jack Twist. Jack Nasty!”

Movie: Stardust

Yvaine: “You know when I said I knew little about love? That wasn’t true. I know a lot
about love. I’ve seen it, centuries and centuries of it, and it was the only
thing that made watching your world bearable. All those wars… pain, lies,
hate… It made me want to turn away and never look down again. But when I see
the way that mankind loves… You could search to the furthest reaches of the
universe and never find anything more beautiful. So yes, I know that love is
unconditional. But I also know that it can be unpredictable, unexpected,
uncontrollable, unbearable and strangely easy to mistake for loathing, and…
What I’m trying to say, Tristan is…I think I love you. Is this love, Tristan?
I never imagined I’d know it for myself. My heart… It feels like my chest can
barely contain it. Like it’s trying to escape because it doesn’t belong to me
any more. It belongs to you. And if you wanted it, I’d wish for nothing in
exchange…no gifts. No goods. No demonstrations of devotion. Nothing but
knowing you loved me too. Just your heart, in exchange for mine.”

Movie: Dirty Dancing

Baby: “Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.”

Movie: The Dark Knight

The Joker: “Y’see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little…push.”

Movie: (500) Days of Summer

Summer: “You weren’t wrong, Tom. You were just wrong about me.”

Movie: Chasing Amy

Silent Bob: “You’re chasin’ Amy.”

Holden:  “What? What did you say?”

Silent Bob: “You’re chasing Amy.”

Silent Bob: “So there’s me and Amy, and we’re all inseparable, right? Just big time in love. And then four months down the road, the idiot gear kicks in, and I ask about the ex-boyfriend. Which, as we all know, is a really dumb move. But you know how it is: you don’t wanna know, but you just have to, right? Stupid guy bullshit. So, anyway, she starts telling me about him… how they fell in love, and how they went out for a couple of years, and how they lived together, her mother likes me better, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah… and I’m okay. But then she drops the bomb on me, and the bomb is this: it seems that a couple of times, while they were going out, he brought some people to bed with them. menage e trois, I believe it’s called. Now this just blows my mind, right? I mean, I am not used to this sort of thing. I mean, I was raised Catholic, for God’s sake.
So I’m totally weirded out by this, right? And then I just start blasting her. Like… I don’t know how to deal with what I’m feeling, so I figure the best way is by calling her a slut, right? And tell her she was used. I’m… I’m out for blood. I really wanna hurt this girl. I’m like, “What the fuck is your problem?”, right? And she’s just all calmly trying to tell me, like, it was that time and it was that place and she doesn’t think she should apologize because she doesn’t feel that she’s done anything wrong. I’m like, “Oh, really?” That’s when I look her straight in the eye, I tell her it’s over. I walk….No, idiot. It was a mistake. I didn’t hate her. I wasn’t disgusted with her. I was afraid. At that moment, I felt small, like… like I’d lacked experience, like I’d never be on her level, like I’d never be enough for her or something like that, you know what I’m saying? But, what I did not get, she didn’t care. She wasn’t looking for that guy anymore. She was… she was looking for me, for the Bob. But, uh, by the time I figure this all out, it was too late, man. She moved on, and all I had to show for it was some foolish pride, which then gave way to regret. She was the girl, I know that now. But I pushed her away. So, I’ve spent every day since then chasing Amy… so to speak.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Philly Tofu Phanatic

Reviews and suggestions for dining out Vegetarian & Vegan in Philadelphia

Veronica Mars

Kickstarter Backer Access!

One Pink Balloon

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

Bluntly Spoken

Calvin 1.0

One year down, Eternity to go...

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

DELIGHTFULLY DYSFUNCTIONAL

A great WordPress.com site- erinkathryn

